Dusana Michaels

Author of "Chopping the Onion"

Jewel in my hand

Leave a comment

He texted yesterday.

A note to say Happy Easter,

I felt nothing.

No need to reply.

No need to explain.

No need to try.

I stare at a door that closed many years ago.

I’m sitting.

No pull to go towards it,

No push to get away.

It’s a door in my life.

It is closed.

I still don’t want to talk about it.

So much of my life left unspoken.

I don’t want to discuss, I don’t want to explain.

I want to be.

I hold a jewel in my hand.

It soaks up the warmth of the new spring sun.

It feels the coolness of the air ever changing its degree.

It’s quiet and still.

It watches and waits.

Anticipating nothing, expecting anything.

This is enough for today.

Author: authordusanamichaels

I have been healing and recovering from incest for over 25 years. It's been an incredibly tough, and yet rewarding process. I have learned to love, trust, and persist under soul crushing circumstances. Beauty can be found everyday, even if it is only for a moment.

Leave a Reply

