Dusana Michaels

Author of "Chopping the Onion"

I am a nobody

Leave a comment

One reason I decided to publish independently under the print by demand option is because I am an ordinary person living my life to the best of my ability. My story is important to me and a handful of people. Admittedly, the majority of the world will not care.

An inner voice has been compelling me to write it nonetheless. My life has been a journey that I have faced as consciously as I can with the hope that healing from incest can be better understood by other survivors and the people who have the heartbreaking task of witnessing our path. My hope is that others can find themselves in my repeated struggles through the years. They can see how faith brings about peace. There is always a deeper level of unconditional love for yourself and others to discover after the latest dark night of the soul has passed.

I thought healing from incest was a one time event, like a mountain to be climbed. With time I have realized it is a process of recovery that gets triggered through daily living. Some triggers are painful and other fill my heart so full that tears can’t help but spill out as my heart bursts with love and gratitude. I would never have been able to find the moments of beautiful perfection without seeing the horrors the deepest sorrows brought. Gut wrenching pain does end with the balance of contentment from grace.

My story is my journey through the confusion of what I had lived through and the healing that could come only from within. It is not the story of how every survivor needs to face their own recovery, but it is the path I was led down with my sanity intact. I was never insane, what I lived through was insane.

 

Author: authordusanamichaels

I have been healing and recovering from incest for over 25 years. It's been an incredibly tough, and yet rewarding process. I have learned to love, trust, and persist under soul crushing circumstances. Beauty can be found everyday, even if it is only for a moment.

Leave a Reply

